## **IUPAP Working Group 9: Report to IUPAP General Assembly**

## The years 2020 – 2021 during the Coronavirus Pandemic

The 2020 Annual General Meeting had been planned to take place at SURA (South-eastern Universities Research Association) Headquarters in Washington, DC, June 18-19, 2020, as an 'in-person' meeting. Due to the imposed increasing restrictions on travel, the WG.9 AGM had to be postponed and was then rescheduled to take place on June 10-11, 2021, again at SURA Headquarters in Washington, DC. Regrettably this rescheduled meeting needed to be organized as a virtual meeting in light of the continuing Coronavirus Pandemic worldwide, which brought with it the difficulty of finding the more appropriate five hour time slots for the greatly dispersed time zones of the members of IUPAP WG.9 and the invited speakers. Originally the 2021 IUPAP WG.9 AGM had to be preceded by the IUPAP Nuclear Science Symposium, which is to follow a biennial sequence upon the suggestion of the Associate Director in the Office of Science of the US DoE, Timothy J. Hallman. This IUPAP Nuclear Science Symposium had to be postponed till 2022.

**Membership:** the current membership of IUPAP WG.9 is as given on the IUPAP WG.9 website [<u>www.triumf.info/hosted/iupap/icnp/index.html</u>] including the following changes. Gail Dodge of Old Dominion University is the new Chair of NSAC replacing David Hertzog; Haiyan Gao as of May 1, 2021, is the new Associate Director of BNL replacing Berndt Mueller; Nigel Smith as of May 17, 2021, is the new Director of TRIUMF replacing Jonathan Bagger; Grigory V. Trubnikov has become the new Director of JINR, Russian Federation replacing Victor A. Matveev.

This 2021 report to the IUPAP Council and Commission Chairs meeting is subsequentially to the 2020 report to the C&CC meeting. The various presentations at the IUPAP WG.9 AGM are given on the IUPAP WG.9 website (see above).

Willem T. H. van Oers Executive Secretary of IUPAP WG.9 TRIUMF, August 1, 2021